Original Story

At What Cost to YOU?

On a scale of 1 to 10, how important is school to you right now? 10 being very important and 1 not important at all. If it’s 5 or under, keep in mind what you’re setting yourself up for. Annual income for a high school dropout is expected to be about $20,241 according the Census Bureau. Do you think that’s enough to live comfortably with? I don’t. Not with the rising prices of living, gas & food. Why not give yourself options to choose what you want to do instead of having to settle with the substantial or the “just enough ‘’. Even just graduating high school can make a $10,386 difference in your annual income. School needs to be important!

I must say I was not far from dropping out before I got into the Alternative high school. It was a lot to handle with a daughter, working, and having to get to school on time after having been up most of the night with my daughter. I know we’re all here at co-op for different reasons but I try to make sure I don’t take this opportunity for granted. This place is small as compared to any of the bigger High Schools so you’re not just another face in the crowd, you’re someone with a name and everyone knows who you are, whether  you like it or not.

For me The Alternative High school was my last chance, other than getting my GED, and now I’ll be graduating in January if everything goes as planned. Co-op as the students know it, is here for you! Within The Alternative High school you get smaller classrooms, teachers that can focus on each student individually and a family of faculty that is intent on getting you graduated and onto either further education or a job. It’s such a different environment then the bigger high schools that you have no reason not to excel. I couldn’t be more thankful. Don’t waste this opportunity by not coming to school or not doing the work within each class. Take each day, as a step towards your future, when you wake up, every day is a choice. Just understand the choice you’re making when you think “Oh it doesn’t matter if I go today” because in reality it does. You’re defining your future as we speak. Make it count.

 

One thought on “At What Cost to YOU?

Leave a Reply

